Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

SAMUEL BARBER Adagio for Strings, op. 11


»Present-Day History« for baritone and orchestra. A joint work by Belarusian composers and poets. Commissioned by VITALI ALEKSEENOK.

I. KANSTANTIN YASKOU »Versuch in Ahnenforschung«

II. OLGA PODGAISKAYA »Die Stadt ist ein Fluss«

III. ANONYMOUS »Ein Gedicht«


TŌRU TAKEMITSU «Air« for flute solo

FRANZ SCHUBERT Symphony No. 7 in B minor, D 759 »Unfinished«


Guillermo González Flute
Äneas Humm Baritone
Vitali Alekseenok Musical Direction

Orchestra of the Ludwigsburg Festival

»We met not as originally planned with conductor’s baton and flute in a concert hall but with funeral flowers beside a bloodstain on the streets of Minsk.« Vitali Alekseenok’s encounter with Maria Kalesnikava didn’t go as anticipated. Both are from Belarus and since emigrating have become important figures on the cultural scene in Germany. During the Belarus presidential election in August 2020 they returned to their home country to join the mass protests against autocratic incumbent Alexander Lukashenko and his blatant election fraud. All across Belarus, people shook off years of lethargy and began clamouring for change. The regime reacted with oppression and gruesome violence; as a result Kalesnikava is now one of many unlawfully detained individuals. Belarusians countered this with a disarming creativity and lack of violence, pitting their innocence against bloodshed. This particular, very moving kind of protest took this courageous people beyond the initial event of the presidential election, even though the numbers participating have been decimated by detainment or flight. As long as Lukashenko is in power, there is no victory; meanwhile a »European history of the present

« is being written, one that is largely disregarded by peaceful and democratic countries such as Germany.


Vitali Alekseenok is known to us as a conductor. While his experiences in Minsk have had a huge influence on him and the way he makes music, he is torn apart in side by the fact that he can do nothing for this country with his concerts. In »Die weißen Tage von Minsk« (The White Days of Minsk) he has written a chronicle of the Belarusian revolution, with the aim of drawing attention to the situation in Belarus.


»Do you rejoice with us? Do you suffer with us?« asks the Belarusian poet Valzhyna Mort in her preface to his book. However, with his evening programme at the Ludwigsburg Forum, Alekseenok is doing far more than simply creating empathy. In three contemporary poem settings by Belarusian composers the audience can experience at first hand the poetic and musical approaches – hymnic, imploring, desperate – that are being used to process the dire and distressing conditions in Belarus. The stillness embodied in Tōru Takemitsu’s piece for flute entitled »Air« matches the peaceful quality of the Belarusian revolution. Its aim remains unreached, something that is also expressed in Franz Schubert’s »Unfinished Symphony«.


Further informations


The event is part of the subscription package »Welt im Wandel« [World in Transition].


Image © Wikimedia Commons Public Domain

dates and tickets

Sat

11 Jun

2022

20:00

Karten 28 ⁄ 42 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 65 ⁄ 75 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Sponsored by

«Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

SAMUEL BARBER Adagio for Strings, op. 11


»Geschichte der Gegenwart« für Bariton und Orchester. Ein Gemeinschaftswerk belarussischer Komponist*innen und Dichter*innen. 

Ein Auftragswerk von VITALI ALEKSEENOK.

I. KANSTANTIN YASKOU »Versuch in Ahnenforschung«

II. ANONYM »Ein Gedicht«

III. OLGA PODGAISKAYA »Die Stadt ist ein Fluss« 


TŌRU TAKEMITSU »Air« für Flöte solo

FRANZ SCHUBERT Sinfonie Nr. 7 h-Moll, D 759 »Unvollendete«


Guillermo González Querflöte

Ilya Silchukou Bariton
Vitali Alekseenok Musikalische Leitung

Orchester der Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele

»Statt wie ursprünglich geplant, begegneten wir uns also nicht mit einem Taktstock und einer Flöte in einem Konzertsaal, sondern mit Trauerblumen neben einem Blutfleck auf den Straßen von Minsk.« Vitali Alekseenoks Begegnung mit Maria Kalesnikava verlief anders als erwartet. Beide stammen aus Belarus und sind seit ihrer Auswanderung wichtige Akteur*innen der Kulturszene in Deutschland. Zur Präsidentschaftswahl im August 2020 kehrten beide in ihr Heimatland zurück und protestierten gegen den autokratischen Amtsinhaber Alexander Lukaschenko und seine Wahlfälschung. Ganz Belarus erwachte aus einer langjährigen Lethargie und begehrte auf. Das Regime reagierte mit Unterdrückung und grausamer Gewalt; so ist Kalesnikava eine von vielen unrechtmäßig Inhaftierten. Die Belarus*innen antworten jedoch mit einer entwaffnenden Gewaltlosigkeit und Kreativität und setzen dem Blutvergießen ihre Unschuld entgegen. Diese besondere und bewegende Art des Protests führt das mutige Volk über das Initialereignis der Präsidentschaftswahl hinweg fort, auch wenn sich die Anzahl der Beteiligten aufgrund von Haft oder Flucht dezimierte. Solange Lukaschenko an der Macht ist, ist nichts gewonnen; bis dahin schreibt sich eine »europäische Geschichte der Gegenwart«, die aus friedlichen und demokratischen Ländern wie Deutschland größtenteils ausgeblendet wird.


Vitali Alekseenok ist uns als Dirigent bekannt. Seine Erlebnisse in Minsk haben ihn und seine Art zu musizieren stark geprägt. Dass er mit seinen Konzerten allerdings nichts für sein Heimatland tun kann, zerreißt ihn innerlich. In »Die weißen Tage von Minsk« hat er schließlich eine Chronik der belarussischen Revolution verfasst, um Aufmerksamkeit auf die Situation in Belarus zu lenken.


»Freut ihr euch mit uns? Leidet ihr mit uns?«, fragt die belarussische Dichterin Valzhyna Mort im Vorwort zu seinem Buch. Mit seinem eigens zusammengestellten Abendprogramm im Ludwigsburger Forum weiß er jedoch durchaus mehr als nur Empathie zu erzeugen. In drei zeitgenössischen Gedichtvertonungen von belarussischen Komponist*innen erlebt das Publikum hautnah, auf welchen poetischen und klanglichen Wegen die dortigen Zu- und Notstände verarbeitet werden – hymnisch, betend, verzweifelt. Die Stille, die Tōru Takemitsus Flötenstück »Air« verkörpert, passt zu der friedlichen Qualität der belarussischen Revolution. Sie ist jedoch noch nicht am Ziel, was auch mit Franz Schuberts »Unvollendete« zum Ausdruck kommt.


Die Veranstaltung ist Teil des Abo-Pakets »Welt im Wandel«.


Produktionsbild © Wikimedia Commons Public Domain

 

Termine und Karten

Sa

11. Jun

2022

20:00

Karten 28 ⁄ 42 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 65 ⁄ 75 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Gefördert durch

Ab 20. Mai: »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz im Forum am Schlosspark! +++  Ab 20. Mai: »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz im Forum am Schlosspark! +++  Ab 20. Mai: »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz im Forum am Schlosspark! +++  Ab 20. Mai: »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz im Forum am Schlosspark! +++  Ab 20. Mai: »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz im Forum am Schlosspark! +++  Ab 20. Mai: »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz im Forum am Schlosspark! +++