Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

»Bright Lights«

IGOR STRAVINSKY »Pulcinella«

JOSEPH HAYDN Symphony No. 90 in C Major, Hob. I:90

GEORGE GERSHWIN »Girl Crazy« Suite arranged by BILL ELLIOTT


»The Dark Side«

ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG »Verklärte Night« for string orchestra, op. 4

CLAUDE VIVIER »Lonely Child« for soprano and orchestra

CHARLES IVES »The Unanswered Question«


Barbara Hannigan Soprano, Musical Direction

Aphrodite Patoulidou Soprano

Coline Dutilleul Mezzo-soprano

Ziad Nehme Tenor

Douglas Williams Bass-baritone

Ludwigsburg Festival Orchestra

At the culmination of her week-long residency, Barbara Hannigan and the Ludwigsburg Festival Orchestra devote themselves entirely to the play of light and shadow. Hannigan, who is both a soprano and a conductor, borrows this source of inspiration from a style of baroque painting. In the programme of the same name, the contrasting »Chiaroscuro« is translated into two successive concerts. »Bright Lights« opens up a world of optimistic sounds, catchy melodies and amusing musical ideas. Igor Stravinsky's »Pulcinella« is characterised by a neo-classical approach that strives for a friendlier tone after its gruff predecessors. Joseph Haydn's 90th Symphony, on the other hand, shows how to tell a joke in a musical way. For the crowning finale, Hannigan impresses as a singing conductor in the lively suite of George Gershwin's »Girl Crazy«. This exuberance is answered by »The Dark Side« with new emotions: Arnold Schoenberg's »Verklärte Nacht« is drenched in melancholy, self-doubt and crisis. Shortly before his step into atonality, Schönberg nevertheless finds light in the darkness with a conciliatory major ending. Claude Vivier's »Lonely Child« further presents an increasingly dissonant lament of loneliness under haunting gong strokes. The »perennial question of existence« concludes the evening: »The Unanswered Question« by Charles Ives reveals the impossibility of an answer and leaves the audience in a state of musical limbo. 


The concert will be broadcast live on our Digital Stage as well as by ARTE Concert, SWR2 and at a later date by Deutschlandfunk. In addition, it can be heard free of charge via audio transmission in the Court of Honour of the Residenzschloss.

Please note: All visitors and accompanying persons for the Forum am Schlosspark must prove at the entrance that they have been vaccinated/tested or have tested negative on the day. You can find an overview of all test sites in Ludwigsburg here. The test centres at the Bärenwiese and in the Rathaushof are also open on Sundays.

dates and tickets

Sun

4 Jul

2021

19:00

Forum am Schlosspark, Ludwigsburg

»Bright Lights«

IGOR STRAVINSKY Pulcinella

JOSEPH HAYDN Symphony No. 90 in C-Major, Hob.I:90

GEORGE GERSHWIN Girl Crazy Suite arr. Bill Elliott

Karten 28 ⁄ 42 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 65 ⁄ 75 €Kombiticket 36 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 72 ⁄ 85 ⁄ 99 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

»Bright Lights«

Sun

4 Jul

2021

22:00

Forum am Schlosspark, Ludwigsburg

»The Dark Side«

ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG Verklärte Nacht

Claude Vivier »Lonely child« für Sopran und Orchester

Charles Ives »The unanswered question«

Karten 28 ⁄ 42 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 65 ⁄ 75 €Kombiticket 36 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 72 ⁄ 85 ⁄ 99 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

»The Dark Side«

Accademia Nazionale di Santa

© Musacchio & Ianniello 

Barbara Hannigan

© Marco Borggreve

Sponsored by

A production of the Ludwigsburg Festival

Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

»Bright Lights«

IGOR STRAWINSKY »Pulcinella«

JOSEPH HAYDN Sinfonie Nr. 90 in C-Dur, Hob. I:90

GEORGE GERWSHWIN »Girl Crazy« Suite arrangiert von BILL ELLIOTT


»The Dark Side«

ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG »Verklärte Nacht« für Streichorchester, op. 4

CLAUDE VIVIER »Lonely Child« für Sopran und Orchester

CHARLES IVES »The Unanswered Question«


Barbara Hannigan Sopran, Musikalische Leitung

Aphrodite Patoulidou Sopran

Coline Dutilleul Mezzosopran

Charles Sy Tenor 

Douglas Williams Bassbariton

Orchester der Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele

Zum Höhepunkt ihrer einwöchigen Residenz widmet sich Barbara Hannigan zusammen mit dem Festspielorchester ganz dem Spiel von Licht und Schatten. Diese Inspirationsquelle entlehnt Hannigan, die sowohl Sopranistin als auch Dirigentin ist, einem Stil der barocken Malerei. Im gleichnamigen Programm wird das kontrastreiche »chiaroscuro« in zwei aufeinanderfolgende Konzerte übersetzt. Mit »Bright Lights« eröffnet sich eine Welt optimistischer Klänge, einprägsamer Melodien und amüsanter musikalischer Einfälle. Igor Strawinskys »Pulcinella« ist geprägt von einem neoklassizistischen Ansatz, der nach seinen schroffen Vorgängerwerken einen freundlicheren Tonfall anstrebt. Joseph Haydns 90. Sinfonie wiederum zeigt, wie man auf musikalische Weise einen Witz erzählen kann. Zum krönenden Abschluss beeindruckt Hannigan in der schwungvollen Suite von George Gershwins »Girl Crazy« als singende Dirigentin. Dieser Ausgelassenheit antwortet »The Dark Side« mit neuen Emotionen: Arnold Schönbergs »Verklärte Nacht« ist durchtränkt von Melancholie, Selbstzweifeln und Krisen. Kurz vor seinem Schritt in die Atonalität findet Schönberg mit einem versöhnlichen Dur-Schluss dennoch Licht im Dunkel. Claude Viviers »Lonely Child« präsentiert unter eindringlichen Gong-Schlägen ferner eine zunehmend dissonante Klage der Einsamkeit. Die »immerwährende Frage nach der Existenz« beschließt den Abend: »The Unanswered Question« von Charles Ives offenbart die Unmöglichkeit einer Beantwortung und entlässt das Publikum im musikalischen Schwebezustand. 


Sollten die Corona-Verordnungen den Publikumsverkehr in geschlossenen Räumen nicht gestatten, wird das Konzert ausschließlich live auf unsere Digitale Bühne sowie von ARTE Concert, SWR2 und zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt von Deutschlandfunk übertragen. Sollte ferner Publikumsverkehr unter freiem Himmel gestattet sein, ist die Veranstaltung ebenso im Ehrenhof des Residenzschlosses zu erleben.

Bitte beachten Sie: Alle Besucher*innen und Begleitpersonen müssen am Eingang nachweisen, dass sie geimpft/getestet oder tagesaktuell negativ getestet sind. Einen Überblick über alle Teststellen in Ludwigsburg finden Sie hier. Die Teststellen an der Bärenwiese und im Rathaushof sind auch sonntags geöffnet.

Termine und Karten

So

4. Jul

2021

19:00

Forum am Schlosspark, Ludwigsburg

»Bright Lights«

IGOR STRAVINSKY Pulcinella

JOSEPH HAYDN Sinfonie Nr. 90 in C-Dur, Hob.I:90

GEORGE GERSHWIN Girl Crazy Suite arr. Bill Elliott

Karten 28 ⁄ 42 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 65 ⁄ 75 €Kombiticket 36 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 72 ⁄ 85 ⁄ 99 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

»Bright Lights«

So

4. Jul

2021

22:00

Forum am Schlosspark, Ludwigsburg

»The Dark Side«

ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG Verklärte Nacht

Claude Vivier »Lonely child« für Sopran und Orchester

Charles Ives »The unanswered question«

Karten 28 ⁄ 42 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 65 ⁄ 75 €Kombiticket 36 ⁄ 55 ⁄ 72 ⁄ 85 ⁄ 99 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

»The Dark Side«

Accademia Nazionale di Santa

© Musacchio & Ianniello 

Barbara Hannigan

© Marco Borggreve

Gefördert durch

Eine Produktion der Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele