Schubert in a contemporary mirror

FRANZ SCHUBERT String Quintet in C major, D 956

GUSTAV MAHLER »Urlicht« in an arrangement for string quintet by ANNETTE REISINGER

KALEVI AHO String quintet »Hommage à Schubert«

Jens Peter Maintz Violoncello

Minguet Quartet

Ulrich Isfort, Annette Reisinger Violin

Aida-Carmen Soanea Viola

Matthias Diener Violoncello

Giving the general public access to the fine arts was the vision of Spanish philosopher Pablo Minguet. The quartet would also like to live up to this vision and chose him as its namesake. As the Minguet Quartett provides new listening perspectives and aha moments with its concert programs. In Ludwigsburg it is no different: Here it brings together Franz Schubert's String Quintet in C major with the Finnish contemporary composer Kalevi Aho. Schubert’s quintet was composed in the year of his death and, with its length of around 50 minutes and and a double cello line-up, it is already an unusual work. Together with cellist Jens Peter Maintz, the Minguet Quartet dedicates itself to this emotional composition and has Kalevi Aho’s string quintet »Hommage à Schubert« in response. In it, Aho takes up the Schubert quintet as a motif and reflects it in a contemporary context.

Followed by Meet & Greet

Listen to our playlist

With the kind support of the Finnland-Institut Berlin.

Information about this venue (directions/accessibility/parking) can be found on the page of the location.

Picture: © Irene Zandel

dates and tickets


22 Jun



Approx. 120 minutes

Karten 35 ⁄ 45 ⁄ 55 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €