Schlossfestspiele Ludwigsburg

Sasha Waltz & Guests

Sasha Waltz Choreografie

Teodor Currentzis Musikalische Leitung


Ludwig van Beethoven's nine symphonies are amongst the most important monuments in the history of music. The significance of the works lies not only in the perfect form of their composition, but equally in their range of universal messages. Per aspera ad astra [through adversity to the stars], Beethoven takes us through the darkest hours of human history, until in the Finale he formulates glowing visions for a better future. In honour of his œuvre, a special project was planned for 2020: all nine symphonies to be performed consecutively in nine different European countries – as a symbol of a united Europe. The culture channel ARTE has staged the event on June 6th 2021. A particular highlight is the Symphony no. 7, broadcast from Delphi, with Teodor Currentzis and musicAeterna. Sasha Waltz will choreograph a new work for the »apotheosis of the dance«, which at the same time sets the mood for the guest performance by her company: in the splendid baroque setting of the Court of Honour of the Palace, Sasha Waltz & Guests will perform as part of the »Dialogues« project.

The symphonies were broadcast live from the following cities:

13:00 Bonn Symphony No. 1 in C major, op. 21

14:00 Dublin Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 36

15:00 Helsinki Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, op. 55

16:00 Luxembourg Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, op. 60

17:00 Prague Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67

18:00 Lugano Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68

19:00 Delphi Symphony No. 7 in A major, op. 92

20:15 Strasbourg Symphony No. 8 in F major, op. 93

21:00 Vienna Symphony No. 9 in D minor, op. 125

The recordings of the other symphonies can be found in the ARTE Concert media library.

A production of ARTE and ARTE Concert.

show overview