Festive opening concert followed by a get-together

Welcome by Claudia Roth, Member of the German Bundestag and Minister of State for Culture and Media

AARON COPLAND »Fanfare for the Common Man«

CASSANDRA MILLER Concerto for Viola »I cannot love without trembling« (German premiere)

JOAN TOWER «Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1«

HECTOR BERLIOZ »Symphonie fantastique«

Lawrence Power viola

Orchestra of the Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele

Ryan McAdams Musical direction

In 2023, Ryan McAdams brought the Monrepos Open Air season to an acclaimed close. Now, the charismatic conductor creates an equally brilliant opening and invites you to the new season with fanfares, a highly emotional solo concerto and a romantic classic.

The viola concerto »I cannot love without trembling« by Cassandra Miller celebrates its German premiere with none other than the soloist of the world premiere: Lawrence Power, who is particularly committed to expanding the contemporary viola repertoire, delighted audiences with his touching interpretation in Brussels. This German premiere will be introduced by Aaron Copland's »Fanfare for the Common Man«, to which Joan Tower referred 45 years later with her composition and dedicated her fanfare to »women who take risks and are adventurous«. The emotionally charged »Symphonie fantastique« by Hector Berlioz, which follows Tower's fanfare, is more than adventurous. The romantic programme music captivates the audience with imagination and fantasy. Ryan McAdams conducts an opening concert between longing, connection and love, laying the foundation for the 2024 season: (co-)humanity and democracy.

Take a listen!

Please note: Parking in the »Bärenwiese / Forum« car park is restricted during the Pferdemarkt (31 May to 2 June). Please use the surrounding car parks (Rathausgarage).

Image © Lisa Mazzucco

dates and tickets


1 Jun



3 hours incl. break

Karten 39 ⁄ 59 ⁄ 69 ⁄ 89 ⁄ 99 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Supported by