Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Opera in a prologue and three acts by HENRY PURCELL. Text by NAHUM TATE after the 4th canto of the »Aeneis« by Vergil


Sasha Waltz Choreography, Staging


Marie-Claude Chappuis Dido

Nikolay Borchev Aeneas

Aphrodite Patoulidou Belinda

Luciana Mancini Second Woman

Yannis Francois Sorceress

James Way 1st Witch, Sailor

Michael Smallwood 2nd Witch, Spirit


Sasha Waltz & Guests

Vocal Consort Berlin

Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin

Christopher Moulds Musical Direction

The legendary choreographic opera »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz opens with a leap into the depths of the sea. The underlying musical theatre work by Henri Purcell condenses the heroic epos into a few elements of action: the gods disapprove of the encounter between the queen of Carthage and the Trojan prince, sabotaging their love. Only just united, the couple is forced to separate; a human tragedy unfolds in which the unspeakable desperation of two isolated individuals transforms love into hatred. When Aeneas leaves Dido, the queen of Carthage, she bids farewell to her love and life in her famous lament.


Sasha Waltz has rethought the oldest love story in English opera, using the language of dance. Delving into the tension-filled tales and multi-layered emotional worlds, the choreographer combines the musical theatre work with the theatrical possibilities of dance. Spatial separations vanish; the title figures are embodied by singers and dancers at the same time. With a multi-genre ensemble, Sasha Waltz’s production goes far beyond mere illustration of the action. Together with the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and the Vocalconsort Berlin under the baton of Christopher Moulds, dance and opera merge in a unique artistic form.


A production by Sasha Waltz & Guests and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin in co-production with the Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, the Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg and the Opéra National de Montpellier. Sasha Waltz & Guests is supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.


The event is part of the subscription package »Tanz und Ritual« [Dance and Ritual].


Image © Sebastian Bolesch

dates and tickets

Fri

20 May

2022

20:00

1,5 h

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Sat

21 May

2022

20:00

1,5 h

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Sun

22 May

2022

19:00

1,5 h

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Sponsored by

From May 20: »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz at the Forum am Schlosspark! +++ From May 20: »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz at the Forum am Schlosspark! +++ From May 20: »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz at the Forum am Schlosspark! +++ From May 20: »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz at the Forum am Schlosspark! +++ From May 20: »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz at the Forum am Schlosspark! +++ From May 20: »Dido and Aeneas« by Sasha Waltz at the Forum am Schlosspark! +++

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Oper in einem Prolog und drei Akten von HENRY PURCELL. Text von NAHUM TATE nach dem 4. Gesang der »Aeneis« von Vergil


Sasha Waltz Choreografie, Inszenierung


Marie-Claude Chappuis Dido

Nikolay Borchev Aeneas

Aphrodite Patoulidou Belinda

Luciana Mancini Second Woman

Yannis Francois Sorceress

James Way 1st Witch, Sailor

Michael Smallwood 2nd Witch, Spirit  


Sasha Waltz & Guests

Vocalconsort Berlin

Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin

Christopher Moulds Musikalische Leitung

Mit einem Sprung in die Tiefen des Meeres beginnt die legendäre Choreografische Oper »Dido and Aeneas« von Sasha Waltz. Das zugrunde liegende Musiktheater von Henry Purcell verdichtet das Heldenepos auf wenige Handlungselemente: Die Götter missbilligen die Begegnung der karthagischen Königin mit dem trojanischen Prinzen und sabotieren ihre Liebe. Eben erst vereint, muss sich das Paar auch schon wieder trennen; eine menschliche Tragödie nimmt ihren Lauf, in der die unsägliche Verzweiflung zweier isolierter Individuen ihre Liebe in Hass verwandelt. Als Aeneas die karthagische Königin Dido verlässt, haucht sie in ihrem Lamento ihre Liebe und am Ende ihr Leben aus.


Sasha Waltz hat die älteste Liebesgeschichte der englischen Oper mit der Sprache des Tanzes neu erdacht. Um die spannungsvollen Handlungen und vielschichtigen Gefühlswelten zu vertiefen, verbindet die Choreografin das Musiktheater mit den theatralen Möglichkeiten des Tanzes. Räumliche Trennungen werden aufgehoben, Titelfiguren werden von Sänger* innen und Tänzer*innen zugleich dargestellt. Mit einem spartenübergreifenden Ensemble geht Sasha Waltz in ihrer Inszenierung weit über die reine Illustration des Geschehens hinaus. Gemeinsam mit der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und dem Vocalconsort Berlin unter der Leitung von Christopher Moulds verschmelzen Tanz und Oper zu einer einzigen Kunstform.

 

Eine Produktion von Sasha Waltz & Guests und der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin in Koproduktion mit der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, dem Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg und der Opéra National de Montpellier. Sasha Waltz & Guests wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.


Die Veranstaltung ist Teil des Abo-Pakets »Tanz und Ritual«.


Produktionsbild © Sebastian Bolesch

Termine und Karten

Fr

20. Mai

2022

20:00

Ca. 1,5 Stunden

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Sa

21. Mai

2022

20:00

Ca. 1,5 Stunden

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

So

22. Mai

2022

19:00

Ca. 1,5 Stunden

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Die Veranstaltung wird gefördert durch