Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

A symphony goes around

The European anthem as a mirror of society

Idolized by musicians, misused in dictatorships, re-adapted as the European anthem – Beethoven’s 9th symphony mirrors the society and shows the dimensions of human behaviour. On Europe Day, we want to take a closer look at the work and its politicized performance history in more detail.

[This text has been translated electronically] Hardly any other musical work has shaped European history as Ludwig van Beethoven’s 9th Symphony. For conductor Kirill Petrenko this music contains »everything that is great and threatening in the human being«. Time has proved: over the last centuries, Beethoven’s music has become a magnet for political purposes. Richard Wagner stormed the Dresden barricades with Beethoven’s Ninth in 1849. In World War I, the work was elevated to the status of militant heroic music. The Nazis also instrumentalized the symphony for their ideology as German »titanic music«. A short Berlin video recording of the concert on the day before Hitler’s birthday in 1942 is still preserved. The conductor at the podium at the time was Wilhelm Furtwängler. He was by no means a proponent of the National Socialist ideology; but the fact that he saw himself as a tool of Goebbels’ cultural propaganda, can still be accused of. Curiously, it was precisely Furtwängler who in 1951 opened the Bayreuth Festival with Beethoven’s Ninth freed the Bayreuth Festival from the ballast of the NS era.


Between the DDR regime and the fight for freedom

However, even with the end of the Second World War, the political appropriation of Beethoven was far from over. Stalin considered the Ninth as »proper music for the masses«, in the DDR Beethoven was regarded as a pioneer of the socialist idea. As in the NS era, the musical proclamation of Friedrich Schiller’s ideals of freedom as legitimation for a regime of terror.


However, the Ninth was also heard in the resistance struggle against dictatorships. In Chile, women sang the »Ode to Joy«, to demand the release of political prisoners under the Pinochet regime. Leonard Bernstein conducted the work for the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 with a new text: »Freedom« instead of »joy« was now intoned – once again, the symphony had changed in the context of a new socio-political situation.


The Ninth became the official anthem of the European Union in 1985. For the arrangement of the monumental final movement to a hymn-friendly length of two minutes, the world-famous conductor Herbert von Karajan. The fame of the »General Music Director of Europe« seemed to justify this engagement. However, Karajan also had a problematic Nazi past: as a success-oriented young conductor and a member of the NSDAP, he began his career in the Third Reich. In his recordings of that time, one can hear that he had no little hesitation, for example, in listening to the National Socialist image of Bruckner. Nevertheless, Karajan’s arrangement made an important contribution to the reestablishment of Beethoven’s music, as the anthem of Europe, once again embodies the values that Schiller and Beethoven wanted to carry into the world in their time.


»Not these tones«

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, more than almost any other work before it lives from the all-decisive final idea. There is an answer to the dissonant chaos at the beginning of the final movement – that is revolutionary for the symphonic genre – the human voice: »O friends, not these tones!« Paradise is not found in brute destruction but peaceful coexistence. In his, Beethoven proclaims an existential vision of humanity.


Is it even possible to represent such a vision in the singular theme of »Joy«? The intoxicating effect of the mighty chorus that heralds »Freude schöner Götterfunken« succeeds primarily through what precedes it: a wild fugato, followed by a moment of calm in harmonic suspension. One does not yet know where the journey will lead. Conciliatory major? Tristful minor? It is a real liberation when finally the redeeming main key of D major is reached.


Catchy megahit

Over time, however, the »joy« theme has hardly been grasped in this complex totality. Did Beethoven even aim at it? In times in which there was no radio, no recordings, he composed his first megahit. With a simple and catchy melody, repeated several times, he wanted his message to be accessible to all. Even to the audiences with less musical expertise. Yet Beethoven’s core message – »all men become brothers (and sisters)« – calls to our action. Beethoven’s melody is not simple enough to be easily sung. It is simple, so a very complex utopia, the vision of a united world, is internalized at all costs.


Mirror of Society

The 9th symphony is not only a great cultural treasure. It speaks directly to us and motivates us to stand up for the values of freedom, peace, and solidarity. When we look at its performance history, we can recognize the individual and collective misconduct and learn how to do better. The music holds up a mirror to us as a society. What we choose to see, is finally up to us.

Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Eine Sinfonie geht um

Die Europahymne als Spiegel der Gesellschaft

Von Musiker*innen vergöttert, in Diktaturen und Weltkriegen missbraucht, als Europahymne neu adaptiert – Beethovens 9. Sinfonie hält uns als Gesellschaft einen Spiegel vor und zeigt die Dimensionen menschlichen Verhaltens. Zum Europatag wollen wir das Werk und seine politisierte Aufführungsgeschichte genauer beleuchten.

Kaum ein musikalisches Werk hat die europäische Geschichte so geprägt wie Ludwig van Beethovens 9. Sinfonie. Für Dirigent Kirill Petrenko steckt in dieser Musik »alles, was im menschlichen Wesen an Großartigem wie an Bedrohlichem wohnt«. Die Zeit belegt das: In den letzten Jahrhunderten ist Beethovens Musik zu einem Magnet für politische Zwecke geworden. Richard Wagner stürmte 1849 mit Beethovens Neunter die Dresdner Barrikaden, im Ersten Weltkrieg wurde das Werk zur kämpferischen Heldenmusik hochstilisiert. Auch die Nazis instrumentalisierten die Sinfonie für ihre Ideologie als deutsche »Titanenmusik«. Ein kurzer Berliner Videomitschnitt des Konzertes am Vortag von Hitlers Geburtstag aus dem Jahr 1942 ist heute noch erhalten. Am Pult stand damals der Dirigent Wilhelm Furtwängler. Tatsächlich war dieser keineswegs Befürworter der nationalsozialistischen Ideologie; dass er sich als Werkzeug der Kulturpropaganda von Goebbels missbrauchen ließ, kann man ihm dennoch vorwerfen. Ebenjener Furtwängler war es kurioserweise auch, der 1951 mit Beethovens Neunter die Bayreuther Festspiele vom Ballast der NS-Zeit befreite.


Zwischen DDR-Regime und Freiheitskampf

Doch auch mit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges war die politische Vereinnahmung von Beethoven noch lange nicht beendet. Stalin empfand die Neunte als »richtige Musik für die Massen«, in der DDR sah man Beethoven als Vorreiter für die sozialistische Idee. Wie schon in der NS-Zeit wurde die musikalische Verkündung der Freiheitsideale Friedrich Schillers als Legitimation für ein Terrorregime ausgelegt.

Die Neunte erklang aber ebenso im Widerstandskampf gegen Diktaturen. In Chile sangen Frauen die »Ode an die Freude«, um sich für die Freilassung von politischen Gefangenen im Pinochet-Regime einzusetzen. Leonard Bernstein dirigierte das Werk zum Mauerfall 1989 mit neuem Text: »Freiheit« statt »Freude« wurde nun angestimmt – ein weiteres Mal hatte sich die Sinfonie im Kontext einer neuen gesellschaftspolitischen Situation gewandelt.


Zur offiziellen Hymne der Europäischen Union wurde die Neunte im Jahr 1985. Für das Arrangement des monumentalen Schlusssatzes auf eine hymnenfreundliche Länge von zwei Minuten hatte man zuvor den weltberühmten Dirigenten Herbert von Karajan beauftragt. Der Ruhm des »Generalmusikdirektors Europas« schien dieses Engagement zu rechtfertigen. Allerdings hatte auch Karajan eine problematische NS-Vergangenheit: Als erfolgsorientierter junger Dirigent und Mitglied der NSDAP startete er im Dritten Reich seine Karriere. In seinen damaligen Aufnahmen kann man hören, dass er hierbei wenig Bedenken hatte, beispielsweise dem nationalsozialistischen Bruckner-Bild folgsam zu entsprechen. Dennoch leistete Karajan mit seinem Arrangement einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu, dass Beethovens Musik als Hymne von Europa wieder die Werte verkörpert, die Schiller und Beethoven zu ihrer Zeit in die Welt tragen wollten.


»Nicht diese Töne«

Wie kaum ein anderes Werk zuvor lebt Beethovens 9. Sinfonie von der alles entscheidenden Finalidee. Dem dissonanten Chaos zu Beginn des Schlusssatzes antwortet – revolutionär für die sinfonische Gattung – die menschliche Stimme: »O Freunde, nicht diese Töne!« Das Paradies findet sich nicht in der brachialen Zerstörung, sondern im friedlichen Miteinander. In seinem Finalsatz verkündet Beethoven eine existenzielle Menschheitsvision.

Lässt sich so etwas überhaupt im singulären »Freude«-Thema repräsentativ darstellen? Die Rauschwirkung des mächtigen Chores, der »Freude schöner Götterfunken« einläutet, gelingt primär durch das Vorangegangene: ein wildes Fugato, gefolgt von einem Ruhemoment in harmonischem Schwebezustand. Noch weiß man nicht, wo die Reise hingeht. Versöhnliches Dur? Tristes Moll? Es ist eine regelrechte Befreiung, wenn schließlich die erlösende Haupttonart D-Dur erreicht wird.


Eingängiger Megahit

Das »Freude«-Thema wurde im Laufe der Zeit allerdings kaum mehr in dieser komplexen Gesamtheit erfasst. Hat es Beethoven sogar darauf abgesehen? In Zeiten, in denen es noch kein Radio, noch keine Aufnahmen gab, komponierte er einen ersten Megahit. Mit einer einfachen und eingängigen Melodie, die etliche Male wiederholt wird, ging es ihm offensichtlich darum, seine Botschaft allen zugänglich zu machen. Auch dem Publikum mit weniger musikalischer Expertise. Dennoch fordert uns Beethovens Kernaussage – »alle Menschen werden Brüder (und Schwestern)« – zum eigenen Handeln auf. Beethovens Melodie ist nicht deshalb simpel, damit man sie leicht nachsingen kann. Sie ist simpel, damit eine sehr komplexe Utopie, die Vision einer vereinten Welt, um jeden Preis verinnerlicht wird.


Spiegel der Gesellschaft

Die 9. Sinfonie ist nicht nur ein großes Kulturgut, das uns musikalisch beeindruckt. Sie spricht uns direkt an und motiviert uns für die Werte Freiheit, Frieden und Solidarität aktiv einzutreten. Wenn wir ihre Aufführungsgeschichte betrachten, können wir individuelles wie kollektives Fehlverhalten der Menschen erkennen und lernen, wie man es besser macht. Die Musik hält uns als Gesellschaft einen Spiegel vor. Was wir darin sehen wollen, haben wir selbst in der Hand.