Schlossfestspiele Ludwigsburg

According to the principle »Pay what you want« you can rewatch the livestream ISABELLE FAUST QUINTETT of 20 June for a fee - but you decide on the ticket price. You will receive the access code by e-mail after payment. The stream is available up to and including 19 August 2021.

ROBERT SCHUMANN Piano Quartet in E flat major, op. 47

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Five four-part fugues from JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACHS »Well-Tempered Clavier II« arranged for string quartet, KV 405

ROBERT SCHUMANN Piano Quintet in E flat major, op. 44

Isabelle Faust Violin

Anne Katharina Schreiber Violin

Antoine Tamestit Viola

Jean-Guihen Queyras Violoncello

Alexander Melnikov Piano

The Ludwigsburg Festival is founded in the spirit of chamber music. On this occasion we regularly invite you to summit meetings in small groups: In a quintet, Isabelle Faust, Anne Katharina Schreiber, Antoine Tamestit, Jean-Guihen Queyras and Alexander Melnikov present works by Robert Schumann and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. In his Bach arrangements, the latter successfully reanimated the Baroque fugue in his Bach arrangements. Schumann used it in the finale of his op. 44 and op. 47 of the fugato, a fugue-like passage. In his »chamber music year« 1842, in the third movement of his piano quartet, he not only created one of  the most beautiful melody of the Romantic period, but with the opulent piano quintet he also laid an important foundation for the genre as such. A exquisite conclusion for an equally exquisite quintet instrumentation.

show overview