Schlossfestspiele Ludwigsburg

The livestream of 10 June is free and open to the public, but we would appreciate your support in the form of a donation. The stream is available up to and including 9 August 2021.

GUSTAV MAHLER »Rheinlegendchen«, »Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht«, »Urlicht«

JOHANNES BRAHMS Intermezzo in A major, op. 118, No. 2

HUGO WOLF »Begegnung«, »Blumengruß«, »Gleich und Gleich«

FRANZ SCHUBERT Impromptus in G flat major and A flat major, D. 899, op. 90, No. 3 and No. 4, »Romance from Rosamunde«, D. 797, »Gretchen am Spinnrade«, D. 118, »Wiegenlied«, D. 498


Anna Lucia Richter Mezzo-soprano

Ammiel Bushakevitz Piano

Bauer Studios Bild und Ton

Fichtner Tontechnik Licht

From soprano to mezzo-soprano – this change of voice type has not only opened up a new repertoire for Anna Lucia Richter, but also gives her the opportunity to rediscover aspects of her previous repertoire with her darker timbre. Accompanied by pianist Ammiel Bushakevitz, she presents a programme of vocal works by three of the greatest Lied composers: Franz Schubert, Hugo Wolf and Gustav Mahler. Schubert's significance in the musical history of the genre is demonstrated in »Gretchen am Spinnrade«, where his music enhances both the text and the deep psychological expression of Goethe's famous poem. Wolf's Late Romantic Lied settings use musical leitmotifs to bring out the interrelations in poems by Eduard Mörike. In the Mahler works, Richter's poetic rendering is in symphonic accord with the piano accompaniment, in which the tone colours of a large orchestra can be clearly heard.

Find out interesting insights and perspectives on the programme in the interview with Anna Lucia Richter and Ammiel Bushakevitz. Further information on Mahler's »Urlicht« you can find here.

show overview